La Grange – Where we make our French little boats


While we were in France we had a day in the workshop, we made some new boats and also designed a new larger model that I’ll be finishing later in the year. For now here is how we make our French little boats.

Marking out the boats

Cutting out the boats on the bandsaw

Using a bobbin sander to give a nice smooth finish

When the weather is nice we take the work outside!

Positioning the mast

Drilling the hole ready for the mast

A square peg in a round hole, this little tool takes the square edges off the mast when hammering it through the hole

Planing of the edges

Gluing the mast in place

Two finished oak boats waiting their sails

After a busy day in the workshop we all enjoy a well earned glass of grape juice (ahem)

19 thoughts on “La Grange – Where we make our French little boats

  1. I like this. I have my own boat building project – I aim to make a model out of driftwood every time I visit the Greek Islands. I am just working on one now after returning from Corfu with a carrier bag full of sea rubbish!

  2. Phew – what an output you have! I love France and all things French. We had a great holiday in Brittany and could see myself living there! Good luck with your work and thanks for stopping by my blog.
    Julie

Leave a Reply

